|RRP: £14.95 per tub|
|Strength:||2,500iu (62.5 micrograms)|
|Quantity:||90 capsules per tub|
|Recommended Use:||1 capsule per day, with or without food|
|Best Before Date:||End of June 2022|
|Suitable For:||Vegans, vegetarians, halal, kosher|
|Traditional Use:||Immunity, Bone Health|
|Other Features:||Allergen-free formulation|
Most Vegan Vit D is inferior Vitamin D2
Manufactured in the UK
|Full Ingredients:||Vitashine™ Vegan Vitamin D3|
Stoneground Rice Flour
Natural Rice Concentrate
Natural Rice Extract
HPMC Capsule Shell (size 0)
Vitamin D deficiency is quite common due to:
Many fat-soluble vitamins (A, E and K) are better absorbed with food. However, Vitamin D3, although also fat-soluble, is absorbed well without food. Therefore Vitamin D3 supplementation can be taken with or without food.
The Institute of Medicine (IOM) recently increased their safe upper limit for adults to 4,000iu per day.
Your GP can arrange a simple blood test to determine the level of vitamin d in your blood. Your GP can then recommend a suitable level of supplementation according to the results.
Due to the northern latitude of the UK, the sunlight we receive is only strong enough for your skin to synthesise vitamin d during the months of April through to September. The ultraviolet B (UVB) rays in sunlight that trigger production of vitamin d are not transmitted through glass, so sitting in a sunny room does stimulate vitamin d production; you need to be in direct sunlight. The amount of vitamin d produced is also affected by the time of year, time of day, clothing, sunscreen, cloud cover, pollution levels and darkness of skin.
There are very few foods with significant amounts of Vitamin D. The best sources are fatty fish such as salmon, tuna and herring. Smaller amounts are found is cheese and egg yolks. For vegans wishing to increase their vitamin d levels naturally through food, some mushrooms contain Vitamin D2. Some fortified foods such as bread and milk have vitamin d added.